2014 / Efemérides / September

“When I am in my translation, I’m not aware of what I’m doing.”

I have come across this poem just recently and fell hopelessly in love with it.

830 Fireplace Road, by John Yau

“When I am in my painting, I’m not aware of what I’m doing.”

When aware of what I am in my painting, I’m not aware

When I am my painting, I’m not aware of what I am

When what, what when, what of, when in, I’m not painting my I

When painting, I am in what I’m doing, not doing what I am

When doing what I am, I’m not in my painting

When I am of my painting, I’m not aware of when, of what

Of what I’m doing, I am not aware, I’m painting

Of what, when, my, I, painting, in painting

When of, of what, in when, in what, painting

Not aware, not in, not of, not doing, I’m in my I

In my am, not am in my, not of when I am, of what

Painting “what” when I am, of when I am, doing, painting.

When painting, I’m not doing. I am in my doing. I am painting.

It is said to represent not only the feelings of the artist while painting, but also how absorbing is the process of writing. But, couldn’t it be talking about translators too?

Just by changing the main word, “painting”, we have the best homage to translation there can be. Because “Poetry is what gets lost in translation”, as Robert Frost said, and what better medium to show how translation is like than poetry, then?

“When I am in my translation, I’m not aware of what I’m doing.”

When aware of what I am in my translation, I’m not aware

When I am my translation, I’m not aware of what I am

When what, what when, what of, when in, I’m not translating my I

When translating, I am in what I’m doing, not doing what I am

When doing what I am, I’m not in my translation

When I am of my translation, I’m not aware of when, of what

Of what I’m doing, I am not aware, I’m translating

Of what, when, my, I, translating, in translation

When of, of what, in when, in what, translating

Not aware, not in, not of, not doing, I’m in my I

In my am, not am in my, not of when I am, of what

Translating “what” when I am, of when I am, doing, translating.

When translating, I’m not doing. I am in my doing. I am translating.

Happy International Translation Day!

[And as yesterday it was her 50th anniversary, here is a strip of Mafalda on literary translation, by true love. Enjoy! Read! Love!]

Libertad y su relación con Sartre y la traducción literaria. ¿Quién dijo que de la literatura no se come?

Libertad y su relación con Sartre y la traducción literaria.
¿Quién dijo que de la literatura no se come?

One thought on ““When I am in my translation, I’m not aware of what I’m doing.”

Leave a Reply

